Come And Imagine What It Was Like
Welcome
The Frontenac County Schools Museum began as a project to celebrate Kingston's Tercentenary in 1973. A small group of retired educators spent many hours researching schools, photographing sites, collecting books and artifacts, and microfilming hundreds of school records. In 1977, the Museum Association was formally established. The museum opened to the public in 1979. In 2006, it moved to its present location in historic Barriefield Village.
Come and visit! Surprising new discoveries on display!
What our Summer Visitors are Saying

“What a marvelous resource.”

“Awesome use of beautiful building.”

“Great history! Helpful and friendly staff.”

“What a gem.”

“Most interesting… Brought back memories.”

“Ouch, the strap hurts…”

NEWS

Check out our fall newsletter.

Follow the series of articles in the Whig Standard about the Schools Museum

Address

414 Regent Street
Barriefield, (Kingston) ON
K7K 5R1

Contact

Phone: 613-544-9113
Official KAM Selected Treasure
A letter of condolence to Lady Macdonald upon the death of her husband, Sir John A. Macdonald
Collection of Canadian Authors
For King and Country
A Story of 1812
    Year-round Museum activities include participation in:
  • Classroom lessons with a "Schoolmistress"
  • Special Events
  • Heritage Interpretation through viewing and discussing exhibits in the Gallery
  • Identifying Artifacts used in Pioneer Schools
  • Enjoying the books used in early times
  • Research facilities